SFRB Other Worlds Summer Blog Hop


13450109_10104674629282277_3879744792677250192_n

Earth, circa 2047 is another world, in my Wildblood series.  A generation after what my characters refer to as World War Last, Earth is unrecognizable.  The tiny pocket of civilization known as The Vista still struggles to survive the harsh weather of the north, while dealing with less-than-friendly scavengers. The electric grid is unreliable at best and other resources are stretched.

Can you imagine a world without electricity? I try not to, especially in the summer, when 100 degrees F. is a real thing where I live. My characters have to deal with the cold, but they are resourceful. Me? I love my air conditioner.

What modern device would you miss the most? I think my coffee maker might actually be first on the list, because it’s only hot here 6 or 7 months a year.

I’ve finished the draft of Renegades: Book 2 of The Wildblood and it’ll be out to readers this weekend. Release date is leaning towards Sept., 2016. In the meantime, a promo for The Vista: Book 1 of The Wildblood.



Grand Prize? Why, yes! Follow the link.
A Rafflecopter giveaway!

The Vista: Book 1 of The Wildblood

5 Star review!
The Vista is fast paced with lots of action and suspense and covers a lot of territory in the vastness of post apocalyptic United States. S. A. Hoag creates characters who are not only believable and enduring but who lead and direct the narrative, carrying us along in their wake. This is dystopian fiction at its best. Looking forward to the sequel.

 

01aa

15 thoughts on “SFRB Other Worlds Summer Blog Hop

  1. I was about to go with the Internet, but the question was about a modern device I’d miss, I think I’d go with musical playback devices — CD players, MP3, etc — because I’m totally addicted to listening to what I want, when I want.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It may sound basic, but I would miss lights and a hot water heater the most. It would be a struggle to live without the others, but I know I could do it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would miss my smartphone. It remembers things for me, carries all my ebooks, photos, videos and photos, and my notebook. But I suppose without electricity I couldn’t charge it and it wouldn’t do much without the internet…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’d miss the internet. Not because it’s an amusement for me, but because it holds much of the sum total of human history, experience, and knowledge (also cat videos). One of the things that breaks my heart and fills me with sadness when I read or see post-apocalyptic settings is that 99% of what we know will have been lost–advances in medicine, remembrances of our history and identities, the things we know about the vastness of space and the tiny infinities of the atomic landscape. We’d lose that in favor of subsistence existence, and go unremembered. It’d crush me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’d miss my computer the most for the twentieth and twenty-first century. But if by modern we mean post-Renaissance, I’d say plumbing. Having to carry my own water would take a lot of time and energy. Come to think of it, a lot of people in the world still have to do that…

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I live in Florida where the 3 seasons are Hot, Really Hot and Hella Hot….so I’d definitely miss air conditioning!

    Like

  7. Air Conditioning. I just camped in a tent for days without AC (or phone, electricity, hot water) and I got heat exhaustion. I missed AC more than anything else.

    Like

Leave a Reply

