Clueless

I’ve posted some of this before, but it sets the tone for the entire book, concerning Shannon and Hunter. Let’s face it, no relationship is perfect. They have some unique problems, and eventually might come up with some unique ways to solve those problems. Or they’ll yell at each other.

Here’s a snippet from Renegades: Book 2 of The Wildblood, due out this year.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

“You’re not wearing body armor,” Hunter observed.

She glared at him, dropping her canteen and clamping her mouth shut instead of saying something rude.

He knew that look. “And you’re pissed at me. Because I kissed you?”

For a moment, Shan was astonished. “You think that’s why I’m angry?” She put her hands on her hips, only accentuating the fact she was mad, and that she wasn’t wearing body armor.

“Apparently, no. What did I do wrong?” Hunter asked, leery.

“You could have asked me to come with you, when you left Estes Park.”

“You told me not to.”

“I might have alluded to it. The point is, you should have asked.” Shan was frustrated. He wasn’t like the other men she knew, the ones she’d grown up around. She had no trouble expressing herself to the select few of Team Three’s inner circle, or talking them in to things.

There was no winning the argument, he knew from past experience. “What about Mac?”

“Mac?” she repeated, puzzled.

“Tall guy. Wears a cowboy hat, watches a lot of old movies when he’s off-duty. You two are . . . involved.”

Folding her arms, she sighed. “I forget, sometimes. You think my relationship with Mac has some bearing on my relationship with you. It doesn’t.”

“Maybe not for you,” Hunter corrected. “And maybe not for him. I have trouble working around that.”

“I don’t even know how to respond,” Shan decided after a moment.

“What did you mean, make it worth your time?”

“Exactly what you think.”

Hunter folded his arms, waiting, knowing her better than that.

“There are times I really despise that . . . smug look,” she folded her arms, daring him to respond.

He held his ground, silently.

“Fine. You’re right, I didn’t mean it, I meant I’m happy to see you and hope like hell you’re happy to see me. I’d never try to dictate your morals or emotions to you and if someone gave me an ultimatum like that I’d . . .” she shrugged, knowing he was aware of her reactions.

“There it is,” Hunter said. “You’d slap someone trying to pressure you into a situation you weren’t comfortable with. At least a slap. And yes, I’m happy to see you. I wasn’t expecting to see another Vistan until damned near this winter.” Any further discussion about Mac was off-limits because he was their ace-in-the-hole. Hunter was aware of why they weren’t together and it had everything to do with genetics.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~


edit_2c

Leave a Reply

