Subtle, Aren’t I?

I’ve asked myself a few times, “Is it a romance?”  ‘It’ being The Vista, the first book in my sci-fi, post-apocalyptic action-adventure.  The answer is – it doesn’t matter.  Yes, there is some romance happening, along with many other things, as you can probably tell.  Labeling an entire 80,000+ word novel as a ‘romance’ or a ‘mystery’ or any other single word isn’t being fair to the book, the author, or the potential reader.  Just read it and call it what you want.

/rant

Ah!  A snippet.  This is from The Vista: Book 1 of The Wildblood.

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

You wanted me?” Shan asked Hunter, finding him in the back of the store they’d been calling home. He was cleaning a rifle, the big one he always carried slung in a scabbard on the left side of his saddle. A Barrett 50 caliber, if she remembered correctly, and she did.

He raised an eyebrow, wondering if it was a loaded question.

Shan glared at him a moment. “Oh, honestly.”

Putting the rifle aside, he closed the door. “I’ve given the ‘all clear’ for everyone. I think we’re going to be on the road in thirty-six hours.”

She didn’t have to answer, she was ready. “And?”

And this may be the last chance I can get you alone before we’re back home in

The Vista.” He caught her up, kissing her. “We need to talk,” Hunter’s voice was low. Dangerous.

Shan took half a step back. “Wait, just two seconds.” She got her radio and waited a few moments. “Hey, K.”

Go ahead.”

If you need me, call me on the radio. I’m going to be out for a few.”

Anything I should know about?” Taylor asked.

Just having a look from the sky-walk.”

Got it,” he said.

Sky-walk?” Hunter asked.

It’s the only place in the building where we can expect there are no eyes or ears.”

A few minutes later they emerged on the deck. It had been a restaurant once upon a time. Hunter and Quinlen had determined the east facing section was sound the third day they occupied the building.

So talk,” Shan said.

He peered off across the valley, thinking about it first. “I should’ve done something about it a long time ago.”

About what?”

About you, about us,” Hunter told her, nodding. “I wish,” he corrected. “I wish I had taken the hint when we were in Colorado.”

 ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

And that’s all.  Things pick up again in Renegades: Book 2 of The Wildblood, due out in a couple of months.  Follow the links to The Vista & Backlash, if you’d like to see what’s going on in my world, post-WW3.

On Kindle Unlimited


Composite09c

Free on all formats, for a limited time.


mini_cover_backlash

Leave a Reply

