Now I Get It

Stephen King in his book On Writing said “Kill your darlings.”

Now I get it.

I’ve been stuck on plot in Renegades. There are things I already have figured out in detail, and other things that are still developing. Then, a flash of inspiration.

A particular character has some issues. These issues aren’t going to go away. He’s always has a bit of a dark side, and this will become more evident as book 2 progresses. I have to let him change. That’s why I’m stuck. I want him to be ‘the good guy’ and that’s just not possible at this point. How far he’s going to go, well, we’ll see. Characters have a way of taking over, of doing what they want, and I’m plan on letting him.

“Kill your darlings.”

No, it isn’t easy. I want to save him from himself, and I’m certain other characters will, too. That’s half the intrigue of being a writer – we don’t always know exactly how things are going to work out. Outlines don’t always stick, plotting plans melt away.

What I am sure of, is that there will be repercussion for everyone. When I named it ‘Renegades’, I meant it. Now I have to let them go play that out.
This will be exciting. Thank you, Mr. King.

The Vista: Book 1 of The Wildblood

Available on Kindle Unlimited now!

Leave a Reply

