Conundrum

WeWriWa! It’s that time again. And time for something a little different. First, a promo. You can find many interesting and entertaining blogs here to peruse!

91e18-wewriwa_button

Some thoughts on my WIP

Conundrum
[kuh-nuhn-druh m]

1: a riddle whose answer is or involves a pun
2a : a question or problem having only a conjectural answer
b : an intricate and difficult problem

I have one of these, probably 2b. An important but not main character is doing things I hadn’t considered until he went there. Now I’m stuck trying to figure out what to do about him. I knew how he felt, and there are hints all over in The Vista. Book 2 is going off in directions I hadn’t considered. That’s all good and well, hell, I actually prefer it. Characters can come up with amazing things.

This one has me concerned, but not to the point of not letting it happen. For one thing, sex happens. A lot. These characters are young and healthy, and ~ta-da~, guess what? My concern, I guess, is that readers might get the impression my female character has too many men. It’s not an orgy, but there are three of them. Or there will be, at some point in book 2. Shannon is actually pretty picky about her men.

Authors – do your characters go off and make their own storylines? Do you let them? This isn’t a first, I’m just curious if it’s a personal quirk or a thing writers deal with.

Here’s a bit I jotted down because it wouldn’t go away.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

“What in the hell are you doing?” [Kyle? To Green]

“You know what I’m doing; I’m just waiting it out.”

“That’s pretty much pointless.”

“Pointless. Someday, Mac is going to burn himself out entirely and become a fucking hermit because that’s what he has to do. Hunter is on the path to alienating everyone, including Shannon if he’s not careful, and when you lose her trust, it’s all over. Who do you think will be waiting patiently for the end result of all this?”

“You will.”

“I will.”

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Book 2 has been dubbed Renegades, and I’m intent on making it true to its name. I’m looking at a February release date. Here’s a link to The Vista; Book 1 of The Wildblood.

promo1002_1c

9 thoughts on “Conundrum

  1. My characters do that all the time. About 6 months ago, I one decide he refused to be a nameless bit character–right here on wewriwa he did it! He made all the readers fall in love with him until I had no choice but to name him and give him his 15 minutes. He really did add to the story, though, and left an opening for a larger part in the next book. 🙂

    As far as your female protagonist hopping from man to man to man? Speaking as a reader here: as long as you’re not touting it as sweet fiction, or Christian fic, I don’t think there’s any problem. If it’s not erotica, then stop short of describing the physicality of the act, and instead, work hard on writing the emotions of it. Have the reader share in her dilemma, her indecisiveness about the different men, her flip-flopping emotions, and guilt–or lack thereof. Make the reader live it with her. And make it about the heartache, sadness, joy, and love, not about the sex.

    Maybe someone else has some great advice. There are so many good (and experienced) writers here.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoyed the excerpt. I like the world you’ve created for your characters to inhabit. I would just say from the strictly *romance* standpoint, romance readers are conditioned to expect to know who the hero and heroine are, pretty much from early in the book, and therefore who will have the HEA. Who to root for, who to invest in. Unless it’s clearly a menage or multiples situation, which have their own conventions LOL. So you might get some romance reader pushback, depending on how you write the story, especially if the readers can’t tell which guy is going to be The One. BUT you, the Author have to write the way you feel your story needs to be, which is one of the beauties of indie publishing. And if course it is scifi, not a ‘romance’ in the classical mode. Hope that’s not too much commentary on a book you’re still writing! Good luck 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

