Halfway There

Six months ago, I self-published my first novel, The Vista; Book 1 of The Wildblood. If you’ve been here for more than 15 seconds, you’ve seen promos for it. Today is no different except this is a brand new snippet!

It’s been an interesting six months. In April, I had no clue about marketing, networking or how to promote. I imagine I still don’t, but I’m learning. I love seeing other independent authors getting new books out there, sharing reviews or book covers and telling tales of how their progress is going. It’s exciting most days, but like everything, other days are just ‘meh’. The good ones make up for it.

Snippet –

This is the very first exchange between Hunter and Shannon, the result of a confrontation on the highway.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Dallas saw her cutting through the crowd and made certain not to be in her way this time. He knew where she was going. When Shan was angry – and she looked angry – it wasn’t time to be in her line of fire. Hunter was about to learn that the hard way.

“Lt. Hunter.” Her tone was ice but her eyes smoldered with some wild emotion. It wasn’t fear. She got right in front of him to make her complaint. “Who taught you to drive?”

“Dallas,” he answered, hitching a thumb at his friend. Hunter was tall, blond and lean, well-aware the southern accent that never completely faded from his voice had an amazing effect on women.

Most women, anyway. “You weren’t paying enough attention,” Shannon told him point-blank. Now he understood the stories he’d heard since joining Security. They’d failed to mention just how easy on the eyes she was. That was the joke, and it was on him. A rookie mistake, Dallas would say.

“Yes ma’am,” he answered.

“When I tell you to move, Lt., you better be doing it so fast I don’t get the sentence finished. Code Calls out here usually have a body count.” Shannon wasn’t shy, never had been. Nearly as tall as Hunter, she wore tactical gear including winter camos, a heavy scarf for head cover, a huge knife on her belt and two fair-sized handguns, one on each hip. She outranked any Guardian under command status when they were beyond The Vista. Scouts roamed the outlands, beyond the perimeter, as recon, the reason many of them went full-on with military gear. Long dark hair, eyes that looked gray in the false light of snow and headlights, she was definitely female and definitely could cause him problems in Security. Guardians were internal security. He was out of his element, in more ways than one.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

That pretty much sets the tone for their relationship in The Vista. It changes in Renegades, but that’s a promo for another day! Here’s one for today, the link to Amazon.

promo07_10_01c

If you’d prefer a different format, this is a link to my website.

Yes-EndingComposite01
Because I haven’t in many weeks, here’s the bio I’ve put online.

Bio – S. A. Hoag

I knew before I got to high school that I wanted to write books. I did, too, dozens of short stories I thought someday I’d turn into novels. Oh, how I wish I had those spiral notebooks full of wild ideas and teenage musings.

I still have the ideas of many of those stories – some of them make me cringe. A few will become something more as I add books to my list of those that are published.

For now, I live in the desert and many nights, in between writing and sleep, you can find me out watching the stars. It’s dark, out here in the desert and I can see so many stars that weren’t there before. I make time to write now. The tiny seeds of stories demand that I write them down.

I hope you enjoy reading them as much as I enjoy creating them.

Leave a Reply

