The Red-Headed Stepchild

Maybe because of my recent distraction and maybe not, Book 2 of The Wildblood series is proving to be . . .  interesting.  Yes, that’s the word you use when you don’t want to say something negative.  It’s really not a negative thing, just far different than Book 1 was.

It has  name, now – ‘Renegades’.  I looked up the number of books on Amazon with that name, and there were many.  With the series name tacked on, I don’t see a problem.  The problem was, my characters were fiddling around with no real goals.  Their individual conflicts needed a focal point.

I’ve contemplated it for a couple of evenings.  What are their short-term goals?  Long-term goals?  Personal goals?  One antagonist kept ending up on my short list.  So be it.

If I’m going to call it ‘Renegades’, I’m going to make them exactly that.

Now, you didn’t think I’d include any real spoilers, did you?  Point is, I’ve got that ah-ha moment I lost sometime in the process.  I’m also getting the cover lined up and hoping I can still get this one out by my self-imposed deadline of December.  Time will tell.

Here at home, my husband is doing well.  He had some surgery and now he’s looking at 6 months of low dose chemo as a precaution.  All this has him a bit depressed, but we think it will pass soon.  I hope to have a draft for him to read soon.  I know some spouses would sugar-coat a critique.  Not him, which is why I let him man-handle that first draft for me.

Alrighty then, a promo is in order. With a tiny bit of luck and a bit more ambition, there will be a snippet this weekend. You’ve been warned.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

The Vista (Book 1 of The Wildblood series)

On Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00W6R8WNM

All other formats – http://www.topaz08.com/vista.html

5 Star Review – “A refreshing change”, “edge-of-the-seat stuff”.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Backlash (prequel to The Wildblood series)

On Amazon – http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0104VMFI4

All other formats – http://www.topaz08.com/backlash.html

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Team Three is sworn to protect The Vista. The first generation post-war; Allen, MacKenzie and Wade are different, and it’s a secret they struggle to contain. They have failed – someone dangerous is out there, watching them.

Leave a Reply

