Dystopian? I Think Not

dys-to-pi-a [dis-toh-pee-uh]
noun
1. a society characterized by human misery, as squalor, oppression, disease, and overcrowding.

I’ve posted The Vista around the internet for marketing, naturally, and I’ve seen the label ‘dystopian’ pop up. There are a lot of post-apocalyptic, dystopian novels out there. I’ve got nothing against them. My problem is that The Vista isn’t. The main characters live there and would do anything to protect their home. It’s not the Garden of Eden, but that doesn’t matter, not to them. It’s the center of their universe. Sure there are problems; it’s called being alive. Disagreements and conflicts between generations don’t make a dystopian society. Futility and hopelessness do.

Anyway. I just needed to post a few words about that. Not all futuristic societies are bad. Take us, for example. 100 years ago, could people have imagined our lives today? How scary would it be to them? How normal and boring is it to us? Exactly.

Click on the cover to go tot he Amazon page.
Yes-EndingComposite01

Leave a comment