Excerpt 2 from ‘The Vista’

Excerpt 2 from ‘The Vista’

~~~~~~~~~~

It’s daylight,” Mac decided, sitting up and rubbing his eyes.

“How are you feeling?” Shan asked, palm against his forehead. “Your fever finally broke.”

“Alright, I guess. What time is it?”

“A little before ten.”

“You going to join me?” he asked, patting the heavy quilt he was mostly buried under.

“Not now. We’re on lockdown.” She sat next to him.

“Why?”

“Nomads following the interstate. Team Two is out taking care of it.”

“You should’ve woke me.”

“So you could tell Mick to take Team Two out and have a look? If they’d rode through town, I would have. Mick pretty much dared me to pull rank on him.”

“Three of my four senior officers are out screwing around in the snow.” He shook his head.

“Yeah,” Shan confirmed. “I’m in charge until you get up and get moving.”

“Am I in any condition to be running things?” He looked around for his clothes.

“Where’s your sidearm?” Shan asked. “It’s been ten hours or better since you had any drugs.”

Leaning over, he found the holstered Remington 1911 .45 and showed it to her.

“You’re fine,” Shan decided. “Is that big enough?”

“You tell me,” he offered, winking. “Besides, someone stole my Kimber, I needed a decent replacement.”

“You can have it back any time you want. Just ask.”

Mac shrugged. “Not an issue except that it’s a damned big gun for a little girl.”

She shook her head. “Not an issue. I’m not a little girl anymore. Come on downstairs. We can get a game of cards going.” Impulsively, she kissed him, jumping up and heading out. “ I got a room full of rookies, don’t keep me waiting.”

He didn’t.

~~~~~~~~~~

3 thoughts on “Excerpt 2 from ‘The Vista’

Leave a Reply

